Boaz

He erected the pillars at the portico of the temple. The pillar to the south he named Jakin and the one to the north Boaz. 1 Kings 7:21 (NIV)

Source: google

As you can see from the scripture passage above, I wasn’t referring to the Boaz who had that fine relationship with Ruth in the Bible. No! I was referring to the Boaz erected by Solomon while he was building the temple.

While reading that story in the Holy Book, I had to specifically reread that particular verse again and again. The most interesting part of it is the meaning of the two erected pillars; I just have to bother you with the meaning of Boaz today.

The name Boaz is in Hebrew; meaning in Him is strength.

First, who is Him? I call Him the Lord of lords, the King of kings, the I am that I am, Ancient of days, the Owner of the universe, and so on and so forth. He is just so endless.

When I was little, there is a particular dog in my area that all kids talk about then. They used to say the name of the dog is Tiger. With this, they will add the saying, the dog isn’t a dog at all, it is a real tiger. Some would even say, he’s been referred to as a dog just because they don’t want the government seizing the wild animal. I, as a kid then, never stopped doubting the fact that the dog is as fearful as a real tiger, but even as mistrusting as I was, it really took a while before I finally decided to see the dog for myself. However, on that day, I walked all alone to the gate (others watching from a distance) with the full intention of only seeing the dog and that will be all. But just before I touched the gate of the house in which the dog lives, the sound of barking I heard didn’t sound like that of a dog; I was sure I do not need to see the dog anymore. I just took to my heels with my sandals in hands.

The owner of that dog must have named it Tiger because of its acts. The same can be said for naming a pillar Boaz – the strength of God. It means the temple is very much dependent on the Lord’s strength. The strength that is above all strengths. Solomon knew, that with the Lord’s strength, the temple is assured of standing for life. So he called God (indirectly) to come and be the strength of the temple. He knew neither his own strength nor that of the pillars was enough to make the temple stand. He knew he needed the Lord’s only strength.

No wonder David never stopped asking for His strength in the book of the Psalms. He talked of how important His strength is in the life of a person (Psalm 118:14; 119:28). Likewise, Isaiah also spoke of His strength; how much importance it was to Him (Isaiah 40:29-31).

Philippians 4:13 says, I can do all this through Him who gives me strength. That is to say, if there was no Him who is supplying him with strength, he won’t be able to do all that he does. Therefore, it is very important to have the supply of the strength of God, because without it, it is impossible to do everything we do. It is also very okay to ask for His strength. In all that we do everyday, we should always seek His strength.

Prayer: Father in heaven, I thank you for your strength in my life, without which I will not be able to do all the things I do. I thank you also for the continuous supply of this strength. Thank you Lord for it will never stop. Teach me to always ask for your strength and to also use it in all that I do. Thank you for the life I am living. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

